Action Center

Power Sharing Agreement Approved in the Senate
February 15, 2021 by NAPA Government Affairs

On February 3, the Senate approved an agreement that, because of the 50-50 split in Democrats and Republicans, will treat both parties equally, with Democrats chairing all committees. When considering legislation, if a committee vote is tied on advancing a bill, the power sharing agreement outlines a process by which that bill could still be considered by the full Senate. Under this agreement, committee ratios and funds for staffing will be evenly split. On February 4, the Senate committee drafting the next highway bill, the Environment and Public Works Committee announced its membership as follows: 

Carper (DE), Chair 
Cardin (MD) 
Sanders (VT) 
Whitehouse (RI) 
Merkley (OR) 
Markey (MA) 
Duckworth (IL) 
Stabenow (MI) 
Kelly (AZ) 
Padilla (CA) 

Capito (WV), Ranking Member 
Inhofe (OK) 
Cramer (ND) 
Lummis (WY) 
Shelby (AL) 
Boozman (AR) 
Wicker (MS) 
Sullivan (AK) 
Ernst (IA) 
Graham (SC)

Please do not close this window. You will need to come back to this window to enter your code.
We just sent an email to ... containing a verification code.

If you do not see the email within the next five minutes, please ensure you entered the correct email address and check your spam/junk mail folder.
Share with Friends
Or copy the link below to share this blog post on your personal website