Congress of the United States

Washington, D.C. 20515

April 9, 2020

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi

Speaker of the House

H-232

United States Capitol Washington, DC 20515

Majority Leader

322 Hart Senate Office Building

The Honorable Mitch McConnell

United States Senate

Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Kevin McCarthy

Republican Leader

H-204,

United States Capitol Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Charles Schumer

Minority Leader

322 Hart Senate Office Building

United States Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Speaker Pelosi, Majority Leader McConnell, Republican Leader McCarthy and Minority Leader Schumer,

As you know, the Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) plays a vital role in supporting programs that help protect individuals throughout the United States from crime and domestic abuse. In light of the COVID-19 Pandemic, the number of persons forced to shelter in place or quarantine with abusive partners or spouses continues to rise. It is now more imperative than ever that we work together on a bipartisan basis to ensure that this pandemic does not lend to increased instances of domestic violence or abuse that go unaddressed or unpunished.

Over a year ago on April 4, 2019, the House passed H.R.1585 the Violence Against Women Reauthorization Act of 2019 with broad bipartisan support in an effort to reinstate the program which lapsed on February 19, 2019. To this day, VAWA remains unauthorized. While there is still funding available for these important programs housed under the Department of Justice's (DOJ) Office on Violence Against Women (OVW), leaving some of the most vulnerable members of our society open to abuse is unacceptable, particularly in the midst of a global health pandemic.

As you work to build upon legislation like H.R. 748, the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act, given the new realities and dangers that at-risk persons face due to shelter in place and stay home orders, it is imperative that you include the reauthorization of the Violence Against Women Act in any next piece of legislation to move through Congress. We urge you to you include additional language granting flexibilities to these programs, and grantees, as they navigate the new realties and challenges posed by Coronavirus. Further, it is critical that additional funding be provided immediately for facilities and programs that assist victims of domestic violence to safely shelter in place. Those at risk for abuse should not have to choose between exposure to COVID-19 or their physical and mental safety and wellbeing.

We look forward to working with you and urge you to consider those most vulnerable as you work toward solutions to strengthen our families and communities.

Sincerely,

Rodney Davis Ann Kirkpatrick Susan Brooks

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Jaime Herrera Beutler Joe Neguse

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Raúl M. Grijalva Don Young

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Terri A. Sewell

Jenniffer Gonzalez-Colon

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Derek Kilmer

Member of Congress Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Anthony G. Brown

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Lizzie Fletcher Ruben Gallego

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Lori Trahan Wm. Lacy Clay

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Grace F. Napolitano Cindy Axne

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Troy Balderson Bill Johnson

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Anthony Brindisi David Trone

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Tom Malinowski John Katko

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Nydia M. Velázquez Abigail D. Spanberger Member of Congress Member of Congress

Fred Upton Lisa Blunt Rochester

Member of Congress Member of Congress

David B. McKinley, P.E. Jim Costa

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Garret Graves Rosa DeLauro

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Alcee L. Hastings

Member of Congress

Anthony Gonzalez

Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr. **Member of Congress Member of Congress**

Dina Titus Mike Levin

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Alan Lowenthal Seth Moulton

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Will Hurd David P. Joyce

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Michael T. McCaul Brian Fitzpatrick

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

David E. Price Ann Wagner

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Gus Bilirakis Jared Huffman

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Pete Aguilar Jim Himes

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Steve Stivers

Stephen F. Lynch

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Lucy McBath David N. Cicilline

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Bill Foster

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Jim Cooper Peter Welch

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Tom Suozzi Theodore E. Deutch Member of Congress Member of Congress

Adam Smith John R. Carter

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Cheri Bustos Bradley S. Schneider
Member of Congress Member of Congress

Mike Bost Jackie Walorski

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Josh Gottheimer

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Donald S. Beyer Jr. Vicente Gonzalez

Member of Congress

Member of Congress

Chris Pappas Gerald E. Connolly **Member of Congress Member of Congress**

Mike Doyle Tony Cárdenas

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Pete Olson Tim Ryan

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Zoe Lofgren Suzanne Bonamici
Member of Congress Member of Congress

Mario Diaz-Balart Jimmy Gomez

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Raja Krishnamoorthi Gregory Meeks

Member of Congress Member of Congress

Conor Lamb Xochitl Torres Small **Member of Congress Member of Congress**

William R. Keating Peter A. DeFazio

William R. Keating Peter A. DeFazio

Member of Congress Member of Congress

David Scott

Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib

Member of Congress

Ro Khanna

Member of Congress

Debbie Wasserman Schultz

Member of Congress

Darren Soto

Member of Congress

Eddie Bernice Johnson

Member of Congress

Joseph D. Morelle

Member of Congress

Earl Blumenauer

Member of Congress

Tom O'Halleran

Member of Congress

James R. Langevin

Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes

Member of Congress

Pete Stauber

Member of Congress

Bobby L. Rush

Member of Congress

Brad Sherman

Member of Congress

André Carson

Member of Congress

Rick Larsen

Member of Congress

Adriano Espaillat

Member of Congress

Dave Loebsack

Member of Congress

Anna G. Eshoo

Member of Congress

Joseph P. Kennedy, III

Member of Congress

Eliot L. Engel

Member of Congress

Henry Cuellar

Member of Congress

Jennifer Wexton

Member of Congress

Marcia L. Fudge

Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán

Member of Congress

Chrissy Houlahan

Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García

Member of Congress

Jason Crow

Member of Congress