Local Open House Sign Codes in Southern Nevada  

As a result of the 2015 Reed v. Town of Gilbert, AZ Supreme Court decision, some municipalities across the country have questioned if they should revisit their sign codes. Since then, GLVAR has been in conversations with Clark County regarding signage, including open house and for sale signs. GLVAR, like other REALTOR® associations, understands that the use of open house signage is a cornerstone of a buyer finding a property and a seller selling their property. That said, REALTORS® must set an example of abiding by the rules of the local municipality in which they are doing business.

It is imperative for REALTORS® to recognize that the proper use of open house signs is paramount in preserving your ability to use signage in our local communities. Please remind your fellow REALTOR® members of their high professional standards, which encompasses the REALTOR® brand and reputation, by adhering to local sign codes/ordinances.

According to the most recent MLS numbers in Clark County for example, the total active MLS listings (note: of all property types) in Clark County is just over 11,000,and almost 7,400 active residential MLS listings. Consequently, open house signs tend to be a common sight in neighborhoods and on roadways throughout Clark County. While most would agree that the sign codes/ordinances throughout the various municipalities of Clark County are grounded in common sense, and overall routinely followed, unfortunately some REALTOR® members inadvertently may not be in full compliance with a local sign code/ordinance in a particular listing community. That is why ultimately the onus lies with individual REALTORS® to preserve and protect the REALTOR® reputation of being a good community partner, so that when your leadership and Government Affairs team makes the case to preserve open house signs, elected officials cannot point to bad actors as a reason to tighten sign codes/ordinances.



  Douglas County Short-Term Rental Ordinance  

The Douglas County Planning Commission has been updating their Vacation Home Rental Ordinance (chapter 5.40 of Title 5) since July. In July, the Planning Commission recommendation to the Douglas County Commissioners was to only allow short-term rentals in the Tahoe Township portion of Douglas County. In subsequent meetings, there were additional conditions proposed to be added to the ordinance, further restricting private property rights. County staff is supposed to be holding stakeholder meetings to address concerns, and the Government Affairs Committee will be there.

New permit violations are also in the works, for those renting out their house 28 consecutive days or less without a valid Douglas County permit; they could face egregious fines, inspections, permit denial, and delays. The Government Affairs Committee has been at the table voicing your concerns will inform the membership of any new changes and effective dates as they are decided.



  Shoreline Strategic Initiative  

Advancing further along the process, TRPA's Regional Plan Implementation Committee will be reviewing the Shoreline code changes for recommendation to the Governing Board at the end of September. Members have reviewed and don't see concerns with the proposed changes. The changes can be viewed at www.shorelineplan.org.



  BMP/Parcel Workgroup Updates  

Members continue to be involved in discussions surrounding BMP workgroups and are currently reviewing possible changes resulting from integrating TRPA's BMP database with stormwater tools and the new Lake Tahoe Info website. With continuous input from the membership and community partners the Laketahoeinfo.org site continues to improve.



  Sign Up to Receive Calls to Action  
  Text REALTORS to 30644 to get alerts on calls for action  


 Inside this issue
2018 Major Investors
Investment completed as of September 12, 2018. Pledges listed for those who have invested at least $500 as of the above date.

Platinum R ($10,000+)

Jack Woodcock

Golden R ($5,000+)

Nancy Anderson
Sabrina Belleci (pledge)
Vandana Bhalla (pledge)
Chris Bishop (pledge)
Diane Brown
Todd Disbrow
Wendy DiVecchio
Ken Gragson
Azim Jessa (pledge)
Heidi Kasama
Patty Kelley (pledge)
Joanne Levy
Keith Lynam
Greg Martin
Doug McIntyre
Teresa McKee (pledge)
Bobbi Miracle (pledge)
George Peek
Chris Plastiras
Devin Reiss
Linda Rheinberger
Brandon Roberts (pledge)
Buck Schaeffel
Kevin Sigstad
Andy Stahl (pledge)
Dave J. Tina
Dave R. Tina
Judie Woods

Crystal R ($2,500+)

Jillian Batchelor (pledge)
Thomas Blanchard (pledge)
Robert Hamrick
Rosa Herwick
Soozi Jones-Walker
Charlie Kitchen
Terrence Moore
Bill Process
Pam Reese
Chantel Tilley (pledge)
Melissa Zimbelman (pledge)

Sterling R ($1,000+)

Christina Africk (pledge)
Eliot Alper (pledge)
Mark Ashworth (pledge)
Forrest Barbee
Scott Beaudry (pledge)
Paul Bell (pledge)
Wende Bell
Becky Blankenburg
Lori Bottari
Paul Bottari
Denise Bremer
Mary Jo Brummer
Leslie Cain
Janet Carpenter
Sherrie Cartinella
Betty Chan
Teresa Chapman
Michael Clark
Catherine Colvin
Christina Cova-Simmons
Shawn Cunningham (pledge)
Cheryl Delehanty
Stephanie Dibbs (pledge)
Amber Diskin
Barb Egan
Ellen Fahr
Tamara Fegert (pledge)
Deirdre Felgar
Pamela Fernandez
John Fisher
Kristi Fisher
Kellie Flodman (pledge)
Jim Forbus
Bob Fredlund
Ernie Freggiaro
Robert Getto
Jamie Golden
John Graham
Stephanie Grant
Molly Hamrick
Eric Heinen
Cheryl Henning (pledge)
Danielle Hess
Suzett Hill (pledge)
YaYa Jackoby
Lori Jenkins
Ronald Johnson (pledge)
Karol Lynn
Tim Kelly Kiernan
Beth Kitchen
Jeanne Koerner (pledge)
Joan Kuptz
Timothy Kuptz
Erika Lamb
Laura Levine
Stephen Lincoln (pledge)
Robert Little
Deborah Logan (pledge)
Gary MacDonald
Shyla Magee
Karen Marsa
Aldo Martinez
Fred McElroy
Christopher McGarey
James McGuire
Margie McIntyre
Caroline Medina
JC Melvin
Michael Mentaberry
Grant Meyer
Theresa Meyer
Mark Miscevic
Laura Moline
Elie Morris
Matthew Mullin
Carol Murphy
Kendra Murray (pledge)
Trish Nash (pledge)
Michele Norris
Norma Opatik
Janet Pahl
Merri Perry
Debbie Primack
Pam Ricci
Yared Rivera (pledge)
Ricci Rodriguez-Elkins (pledge)
Vincent Rossi
Kellie Rubin
Sarah Scattini (pledge)
Neil Schwartz
Sara Sharkey-Alexander
Krystal Sherry
Dusty Shipp
Mark Sivek
Cheryl Smith
Karen Smith (pledge)
Sandee Smith
Trevor Smith
Lillian Spencer
Brad Spires
Marcella Syme (pledge)
Katherine Tatro
Scott Tieche
Sandra Wakefield
Cherie Williams (pledge)
James Winer
Anita Woodcock-Garritano
Julie Youngblood
Kamyar Zargari

Association Corporate Investors

NV REALTORS® - Platinum R
NV Homeowners Alliance - Platinum R
GLVAR - Platinum R
ECAR - Sterling R
Incline Village REALTORS® - Sterling R
Contact Nevada REALTORS®

For more information, please contact: