Real Estate Licensing  

Introduced by Senator Mo Denis at NVR's request, SB230 contains several elements that the NVR Legislative Committee felt needed to be addressed in the real estate licensing statute. First, it would address the nickname issue by capturing the nickname on the license application and issuing a real estate license that includes that nickname. It would also require that advertisements include the license number.

In addition, it would allow brokers to keep their agents' licenses in a secure manner and to make them available for inspection by the public or the Division upon request (instead of requiring that they be prominently display the licenses as is currently required).

Section 5 of the bill would require that the Real Estate Commission adopt regulations that authorize a person who is 70 years or older and has been licensed for 30 years or more to apply to the Division for an exemption from any requirement to complete continuing education other than the subject matter set in regulation.

Finally, this measure would allow the Commission to require a licensee to complete the post-licensing education before that licensee can write a contract.

The bill has been referred to Senate Commerce and Labor. No hearing has been scheduled yet.



  Agents Responsible to Notify Buyers of Property Tax Due  

SB199 was introduced by Senator Melanie Scheible in response to a constituent's request. It would require the county treasurer or assessor to forgive a person of all interest and penalty for failure to pay property taxes on time if:

  • The tax was assessed on a property purchased within 30 days before the tax becomes due;
  • The person declares under penalty of perjury that he/she did not receive the notice described below; and,
  • The person has not been relieved of the penalty and interest under this section in the last 3 years.
The measure would require real estate licensees who represent a buyer to provide a written notice, no later than by the close of escrow, of the amount of any property tax that must be paid by the buyer. The penalties involved if a licensee does not provide proper written notice would include disciplinary action by the Real Estate Commission and liability in a civil action to the purchaser for the penalties and interests.

If the buyer is not represented by a real estate licensee, the responsibility to provide said notice would fall on the title or escrow agents and include similar disciplinary action and liability in a civil action.

NVR has been working with the bill sponsor, who is very responsive to our concerns.

The measure has been referred to Senate Commerce and Labor. No hearing has been scheduled.



  Authorizes Cities to Create a District for a Fire Department  

Brought forward by the City of Reno, AB4 would allow cities to create a fire district and levy a tax for the support of the district. Current law allows counties to create a fire district, and the City is looking to gain similar powers.

The bill was heard on February 19 in Assembly Government Affairs. NVR testified in opposition alongside several entities to express concerns over this measure.



  2019 Session by the Numbers  

The 80th Session of the Nevada Legislature began on February 4, 2019. February 22 is day 19 of the 120-day session.

# of BDRs 1,078
# of Senate Bills 244
# of Assembly Bills 234
Bills Tracked by NVR 40
3/18 Bill introductions by legislators
3/25 Bill introductions by committees
4/12 First House committee passage
4/23 First House passage
5/1 Economic Forum
5/17 Second House committee passage
5/24 Second House passage
6/3 Sine Die


  Sign Up to Receive Calls to Action  
  Text REALTORS to 30644 to get alerts on calls for action  


February 22, 2019
 Inside this issue
2019 Major Investors
Investment completed as of February 21, 2019. Pledges listed for those who have invested at least $500 as of the above date.

Platinum R ($10,000+)

Your name here!

Golden R ($5,000+)

Nancy Anderson
Diane Brown
Todd Disbrow
Wendy DiVecchio
Azim Jessa
Heidi Kasama
Keith Lynam
Greg Martin
Doug McIntyre
Teresa McKee
George Peek
Merri Perry (pledge)
Chris Plastiras
Devin Reiss
Linda Rheinberger
Brandon Roberts
Leroy "Buck" Schaeffel
David R. Tina
Donald Wilkerson
Judie Woods

Crystal R ($2,500+)

Jillian Batchelor
Robert Andy Stahl (pledge)
Chantel Tilley

Sterling R ($1,000+)

Katie Bawden
Becky Blankenburg
Lori Bottari
Paul Bottari
Leslie Cain
Rocky Finseth
David Graham
Eric Heinen
Lori Jenkins
Joan Kuptz
Erika Lamb
Jodi Lenzie
Aldo Martinez
Jenny Minucci
Carol Murphy
Katherine Tatro
Julie Youngblood
2018 Major Investors
Investment completed as of December 31, 2018.

Platinum R ($10,000+)

Jack Woodcock

Golden R ($5,000+)

Nancy Anderson
Sabrina Belleci
Vandana Bhalla
Chris Bishop
Diane Brown
Todd Disbrow
Wendy DiVecchio
Ken Gragson
Azim Jessa
Heidi Kasama
Patty Kelley
Joanne Levy
Keith Lynam
Greg Martin
Doug McIntyre
Teresa McKee
Bobbi Miracle
George Peek
Chris Plastiras
Devin Reiss
Linda Rheinberger
Brandon Roberts
Buck Schaeffel
Kevin Sigstad
Dave J. Tina
Dave R. Tina
Judie Woods

Crystal R ($2,500+)

Jillian Batchelor
Thomas Blanchard
Robert Hamrick
Rosa Herwick
Soozi Jones-Walker
Charlie Kitchen
Terrence Moore
Bill Process
Pam Reese
Andy Stahl
Chantel Tilley
Melissa Zimbelman

Sterling R ($1,000+)

Christina Africk
Eliot Alper
Mark Ashworth
Forrest Barbee
Scott Beaudry
Paul Bell
Wende Bell
Becky Blankenburg
Steven Bohler
Lori Bottari
Paul Bottari
Denise Bremer
Mary Jo Brummer
Leslie Cain
Janet Carpenter
Sherrie Cartinella
Betty Chan
Teresa Chapman
Michael Clark
Catherine Colvin
Christina Cova-Simmons
Shawn Cunningham (pledge)
Anje deKnijk
Cheryl Delehanty
Stephanie Dibbs
Amber Diskin
Bill Driscoll
Barb Egan
Ellen Fahr
Tamara Fegert (pledge)
Deirdre Felgar
Pamela Fernandez
Margaret Finel
John Fisher
Kristi Fisher
Kellie Flodman (pledge)
Jim Forbus
Bob Fredlund
Ernie Freggiaro
Robert Getto
Jamie Golden
John Graham
Stephanie Grant
Molly Hamrick
Eric Heinen
Cheryl Henning
Danielle Hess
Suzett Hill
YaYa Jackoby
Lori Jenkins
Ronald Johnson
Lyn Karol
Keith Kelley
Tim Kelly Kiernan
Beth Kitchen
Jeanne Koerner
Joan Kuptz
Timothy Kuptz
April La Brie
Erika Lamb
Laura Levine
Stephen Lincoln
Robert Little
Deborah Logan
Marissa Lostra
Gary MacDonald
Shyla Magee
Karen Marsa
Aldo Martinez
Dennis McDuffee
Fred McElroy
Christopher McGarey
James McGuire
Margie McIntyre
Caroline Medina
JC Melvin
Michael Mentaberry
Grant Meyer
Theresa Meyer
Mark Miscevic
Laura Moline
Cassandra Mor
David Morris
Elie Morris
Matthew Mullin
Carol Murphy
Kendra Murray
Trish Nash
Michele Norris
Norma Opatik
Janet Pahl
Merri Perry
Debbie Primack
Dale Puhl
Pam Ricci
Yared Rivera
Ricci Rodriguez-Elkins
Vincent Rossi
Kellie Rubin
Marvin Rubin
Sarah Scattini
Neil Schwartz
Kirby Scofield
Sara Sharkey-Alexander
Krystal Sherry
Dusty Shipp
Mark Sivek
Cheryl Smith
Karen Smith (pledge)
Sandee Smith
Scott Smith
Trevor Smith
Lillian Spencer
Brad Spires
Marcella Syme
Katherine Tatro
Scott Tieche
Sandra Wakefield
Lisa Waldeck
Cherie Williams
James Winer
Anita Woodcock-Garritano
Julie Youngblood
Kamyar Zargari

Association Corporate Investors

NV REALTORS® - Platinum R
NV Homeowners Alliance - Platinum R
GLVAR - Platinum R
RSAR - Platinum R
Sierra Nevada REALTORS® - Crystal R
ECAR - Sterling R
Incline Village REALTORS® - Sterling R
Southern Nevada CCIM - Sterling R
Contact Nevada REALTORS®

For more information, please contact: