Victory in Kansas! SAN-supported legislation (H.B. 2165) to re-define vehicles eligible to be registered as antique vehicles was signed into law by Governor Laura Kelly. Currently, the Kansas Highway Patrol defines an antique vehicle as being “more than 35 years old and as close to the original as possible, without any significant alterations to the major component parts.” The new law only requires the vehicle to be more than 35 years old, regardless of the age of the component parts installed on the vehicle. It removes the unnecessary restrictions currently required for vehicles eligible for registration as antique.
The new law recognizes that the collection and restoration of historic and classic cars is an important part of preserving the technological achievements and cultural heritage of the United States. It is expected to go into effect on July 1.
Congratulations and thank you to those who supported this effort!