IADA E-Bulletin
Facebook Twitter LinkedIn    
Inside this issue

Visit Our Website


Join our mailing list!

Do you know of other member dealership employees who should be receiving the IADA Electronic Bulletins? Let us know! Send an email to Meghan Sander (msander@illinoisdealers.com), Director of Communication, with the contact information of people who should be on our distribution list.


Pat Manning
Brad Manning Ford

Vice Chairman
Mike Ettleson
Ettleson Cad-Bu-GMC, Inc.

Rick Yemm
Yemm Chev-Bu-GMC-Chry-Jeep


Peter Sander

IADA Staff Contacts:
Ph# 1-800-252-8944

Pete Sander
Ext. 103

Larry Doll
Ext. 105

Mark Harting
Administrative Services
Ext. 110

Mike Healey
Member Services
Ext. 107

Joe McMahon
Ext. 113

Meghan Sander
Member Communications
Ext. 109


Your IADA Partner
Moving Vehicle Registration into the future

July 31, 2019   Volume 2019, Issue 8

  Important Messages From Secretary of State  
  The Secretary of State's Office has stepped up its auditing of the Temporary Registration Permit (TRP) system and has asked IADA to remind dealers about proper usage of the TRP system as well as the use of 7-day and 30-day drive away permits.  The Vehicle Code prohibits any person who issues a TRP from:
  • Altering or fabricating a name, address, VIN, or other vehicle information on a TRP;
  • Issuing multiple TRPs or 7-day or 30-day permits to the same customer;
  • Failure to enter a TRP or permit into the system; and
  • Allowing a customer to use a TRP or permit that was not properly issued.
Furthermore, if you sell a vehicle to a dealer or wholesaler, the vehicle must not be issued a TRP or 7-day or 30-day permit.  Vehicles sold to dealers or wholesalers should be removed on a dealer plate, in-transit plate, or by trailer.

A violation of any of the above provisions could result in SOS suspension or revocation of TRP and permit privileges as well as civil litigation by the customer against the dealership.  

Additional information from the Secretary of State's Office is available here.

In addition to heightened TRP enforcement, SOS has announced that, starting August 1, auctioneers who sell vehicles to out-of-state dealers or out-of-state wholesalers will be required to place a stamp on the title stating: "NOT FOR RESALE IN ILLINOIS". An out-of-state dealer or wholesaler who sells to an Illinois resident will be required to first obtain a title in the dealership's or wholesaler's own name in its home state, at which time the stamp will be removed. Additional information from the Secretary of State is available here.


  Drop It And Drive Campaign  

In an effort to reduce the number of crashes caused by distracted driving, the Illinois Tollway, Illinois Department of Transportation, Illinois State Police, Illinois Secretary of State and AAA are working together on a statewide campaign to educate drivers about the hand-held cellphone ban that took effect January 1, 2014.

The new law which took effect July 1, 2019, law prohibits motorists from talking on all but hands-free mobile phones while driving. In addition, the new law imposes fees starting at $75 for drivers caught using a hand-held cellphone while driving. Drivers could pay $150 for repeat offenses and may eventually have their driver's licenses suspended. It's considered a moving violation even if the vehicle is stopped at a traffic signal. A phone in one hand means a ticket in the other. Drivers with three or more moving violations within a 12-month period risk suspension of their driver's license. 

In addition, the law imposes stricter penalties following crashes in which electronic devices were being used at the time of collision. A crash causing great bodily harm can earn a driver up to one year in prison and a fatal crash can result in a prison sentence of up to three years.

The only way to slow down the growing epidemic of distracted driving is by everyone doing their part to make Illinois roads safer. Drivers need to remember that if they drive with a phone in one hand, they can expect a ticket in the other.

Please visit www.dropitanddriveillinois.com to learn more about how you can participate in the campaign.  




  2018 EEOC Wage Data - Additional 2018 and 2017 Data Due September 30, 2019  
  Dealers with 100 or more employees are subject to the U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission's (EEOC) EEO-1 Survey filing mandate. The EEOC enforces federal laws that make it illegal to discriminate against a job applicant or employee because of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, disability or genetic information. The EEO-1 Survey for 2018 data is due by May 31, 2019, and must include demographic data on race, gender and ethnicity by job category (information known as "EEO-1 Survey Component 1 data"). 

In addition, the Federal District Court for the District of Columbia recently ruled that additional data for calendar years 2018 and 2017 must be filed by September 30, 2019. Known as "EEO-1 Survey Component 2 data," these additional filings must include employee W-2 wage and hours worked information set out in 12 specified pay bands. Important: the EEOC intends to open by mid-July a portal for Component 2 data; NADA will notify dealers when that happens.  

Last week, the U.S. Department of Justice filed a notice to appeal the District Court's ruling requiring the Component 2 data. However, since the District Court's ruling has yet to be stayed, NADA suggests that for now EEO-1 filers should assume that they will have to file Component 2 data by the September 30, 2019 deadline. 
Questions can be directed to regulatoryaffairs@nada.org.